R&D and Innovation

INNOVATION AND R&D

Through the work they do every day, all our people are on-site researchers and innovators. Because techniques, materials and the expectations of customers change all the time, innovation has always been central to our business.

We believe in the osmotic interaction between people and technology, and between intuition and experimentation.

 

INVOLVING CUSTOMERS

We believe that innovation is meaningless unless it is useful for our customers and the way they use our products and services today and going forward. 70% of our projects directly address issues experienced by our customers. So early-stage identification, test site experimentation and feedback are the 3 key phases in which customers are closely involved.

THE ROLE OF INNOVATION, RESEARCH AND DEVELOPMENT (IRD)

The Innovation, Research and Development (IRD) department takes responsibility for projects with the potential to benefit several Group businesses. With operational support from the Scientific and Technical Department, it manages projects and identifies future topics for R&D. And because we all work better as a group, the IRD works collaboratively with a broad range of external stakeholder contributors.

OUR IRD PRIORITIES

  • To incorporate sustainability
  • To capitalise on the latest digital technologies
  • To work within customer budget constraints
  • To offer simplified maintenance and forward development
NGE tunnel Grand Paris innovation

OPEN INNOVATION

We work collaboratively by including external stakeholders such as academic partners, competitiveness clusters, startups, industrial companies and others. The IRD department is a member of Bpifrance le Hub, the Alliance pour l’Innovation Ouverte, Hello Open World by KPMG, the Arbois Méditerranée Environment Technology Park and the Cap Digital competitiveness cluster.

 

MORE VALUE FOR CUSTOMERS

Offering the same product or engineered structure with a higher level of performance, identifying sources of savings by proposing variants and even creating entirely new markets based on disruptive innovations are the three main areas of focus for technological innovation, which also includes paying particular attention to social and environmental performance.

COMPLETELY NEW FUNDING SOLUTIONS

Whether for major infrastructures or local projects, our financial and legal expertise allows us to create funding solutions specific to each customer. In March 2015, this approach was awarded the Funding Innovation Award at the Rencontres du Financement et de l’Economie conference.

 

INNOVATION IN EMPLOYEE RELATIONS

Taking the pulse of the company to identify the expectations of its people is another outcome of the NGE commitment to innovation. This approach has made it possible to create a club to restore employee purchasing power, and a think tank to develop ethical, economic and realistic recommendations for ensuring full and uncompromising gender equality at NGE.

See also
Find out more about Plate Forme Our 100% in-house training college

Setting up our own ‘Plate Forme’ training college has provided us with an invaluable resource for assured self-sufficiency in employee training, and allows us to design bespoke training programmes that precisely meet the needs of trainees and the requirements of the Group.

  • 4 training centres and 2 technical centres
  • 800 training programmes
  • 5,200 trainees per year
  • 120,000 hours of training per year

R&D et Innovation

Innovation et R&D

Tous nos collaborateurs sont des chercheurs au quotidien, des innovateurs de terrain. Parce que les techniques, les matériaux, les attentes des clients et les usages évoluent, l’innovation est au cœur de nos développements.

Nous croyons en l’osmose entre l’humain et la technique, l’intuition et l’expérimentation.

 

Associer le client

Pour nous, l’innovation n’a de sens que si elle est utile pour nos clients et les usages d’aujourd’hui et de demain. 70 % des projets répondent à des problématiques clients. Détection en amont, expérimentation sur des chantiers tests et retours d’expérience sont les 3 phases clés auxquelles est étroitement associé le client.

Associer le fournisseur

Associer nos fournisseurs à l’innovation c’est démultiplier les opportunités, c’est ouvrir de nouvelles perspectives. Il s’agit de trouver des solutions innovantes liées à des problématiques opérationnelles. Nous travaillons avec nos fournisseurs, avec les exploitants, sur les meilleures variantes possibles pour satisfaire les clients.

En savoir plus

Diagnosol innovation NGE

Le rôle de l’Innovation et de la R&D (IRD)

La direction Innovation, Recherche et Développement (IRD) prend en charge les projets qui bénéficient à plusieurs métiers du Groupe. Avec la direction Scientifique et Technique qui vient en appui opérationnel, elle pilote les projets et identifie les sujets R&D futurs. Et parce que l’on est meilleur à plusieurs, l’IRD travaille avec différents acteurs extérieurs dans une logique collaborative.

Les axes de l’IRD

  • Intégrer le développement durable
  • Capitaliser sur les technologies numériques
  • Répondre aux contraintes budgétaires clients
  • Offrir un entretien et une évolutivité simplifiés
NGE tunnel Grand Paris innovation

L’open innovation

Nous travaillons dans une logique collaborative en intégrant des parties prenantes extérieures comme des partenaires académiques, des pôles de compétitivité, des start-up, des fournisseurs… La direction IRD adhère à Bpifrance le Hub, l’Alliance pour l’Innovation Ouverte, Hello Open World de KPMG, le technopôle de l’Arbois spécialisé dans l’environnement et au pôle de compétitivité Cap Digital.

 

Plus de valeur pour le client

Proposer le même produit ou le même ouvrage avec un rendement meilleur, trouver des gisements d’économie en proposant des variantes ou encore créer un nouveau type de marché à partir d’une innovation de rupture sont les principales actions de l’innovation technique avec une vigilance particulière portée aux performances sociales et environnementales.

Des solutions inédites de financements

Pour des grandes infrastructures ou des projets de proximité, notre expertise financière et juridique permet de créer des solutions de financement au service du client. Cette démarche a reçu en mars 2015 le prix de l’Innovation du Financement lors des Rencontres du Financement et de l’Economie.

 

L’innovation sociale

Prendre le pouls de l’entreprise et identifier ainsi les attentes des collaborateurs procèdent aussi de l’innovation chez NGE. Une approche qui a permis de créer un club pour redonner du pouvoir d’achat aux salariés ou encore un groupe de réflexion pour élaborer des recommandations éthiques, économiques et pragmatiques visant à donner, chez NGE, toute leur place aux femmes.

Voir aussi
Découvrez Plate forme Notre école interne de formation : CFA depuis 2019

En créant notre propre école de formation, Plate Forme, nous nous sommes dotés d’un outil précieux qui nous garantit une totale autonomie dans la formation des collaborateurs et une conception sur-mesure de programmes qui répondent aux exigences des apprenants et aux besoins du Groupe.

  • 4 centres de formation et 2 plateaux techniques
  • 80 programmes de formation
  • 5 200 stagiaires par an
  • 120 000 heures de formation par an